Dental Imaging


The EFOMP hereby announces a new Special Interest Group (SIG) entitled “Dental Imaging”. The SIG will operate under the Scientific and Education & Training Committees and is established as a permanent structure of EFOMP. The SIG has been approved during the EFOMP Spring Officers meeting in Helsinki in May 2022 and presented to Council in Dublin in August 2022.

The rationale of the SIG: The high frequency of dental imaging, and the recent surge in the use of Cone Beam CT, warrants an active role of MPs in this field. In particular, private practitioners tend to work more independently, and can benefit the most from an increased and more dedicated involvement of Medical Physicists. Practices between European countries vary considerably e.g. legislation, recognition of oral radiology specialty. There is a need to evaluate these differences and harmonize the current practices.

The expected outcome: 

  • Revise and specify the Medical Physicist's role in dentistry and evaluate current practice of QA/QC/DRLs in CBCT  and shielding in dentistry.
  • Discuss and, where relevant, prepare statements regarding the uptake of new technologies e.g. AI tools, dental MRI.
  • Evaluate Medical Physics involvement in dental undergraduate and postgraduate curricula.

The group is open to anyone with an interest in medical physics-related topics within dental imaging e.g. radioprotection, quality assurance / quality control, regulatory aspects, etc,  and will have members representing all stakeholders (incl. clinicians, regulators and industry).

SIG_DENTAL_IMAGING Application Procedure

EFOMP members (members of their NMO), or Individual Associate Members (including professionals outside the EU) can apply to be a member of the SIG, using the member application form. 

A short professional CV is required for every application.

Corporate members (company staff) are accepted. NMOs can also nominate representatives. 

Applications can be applied via this form.

SIG will be open for additional members during the life of the SIG. The later member applications should be send to the secretary of the SIG, who will be announced once elected.



The Steering Committee members elected in January 2024 for a 3-year term  are:

  • Mona Lisa Camilleri, Malta
  • Chibuzor Eneh, Finland
  • Paddy Gilligan, Ireland
  • Ruben Pauwels, Denmark
  • Hugo Trindade, Portugal
  • Eirini Tsaggari, Denmark
  • Brendan Tuohy, Ireland


  • Chair: Ruben Pauwels, Denmark
  • Vice-chair: Hugo Trindade, Portugal
  • Secretary: Eirini Tsaggari, Denmark